Scallops and Chorizo

As Nigella mentions at the start of this recipe, scallops have long been paired with other foods like bacon and chilli. It has even been paired with black pudding in a James Martin recipe. Nigella chose to use Chorizo as it is a combination of the bacon and chilli, being able to use the paprika-hot oil for cooking the scallops in. Nigella goes on to say… “It’s quicker than the speed of light to make and quite as dazzling”.

As I was making it for the two of us, I halved all the ingredients, with it being such a simple list of ingredients.

(Printable Recipe)

Serves 4

Ingredients:
110g Chorizo Sausage
400g Small Scallops (halve them to make 2 thinner discs if they are fat)
Juice of half a lemon
4 x 15ml tbsps chopped fresh Parsley

1 Slice the chorizo into rounds no thicker than 3mm.

2 Heat a heavy based frying pan and when hot, dry-fry the chorizo until crisped on each side – this should take no more than 2 minutes. The chorizo will give out plenty of its own oil.

3 Remove the chorizo to a bowl and fry the scallops in the chorizo oil for about 1 minute a side, until the scallops start turning a lovely orange colour.

4 Return the chorizo to the pan with the scallops, add the lemon juice and let it all bubble for a few seconds before arranging on a serving plate and sprinkling with parsley.

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Scallops and Chorizo”

  1. Oh, this sounds so nice. I was going to buy some scallops at the weekend and then randomly changed my mind – wish I hadn’t now!

  2. Nice recipe! I love Chorizo so much, it seems to work well with so many things…

    Haven’t tried out cooking with scallops yet, as not found a decent supplier in Bristol. This needs more investigation, as I think I’m missing out!

    1. As I said to meemalee you gotta try this mate! Not sure I ever bought scallops when living in Bristol but if I think of anywhere I’ll let you know 😉

  3. Wow…the scallops look big and juicy. Simple ingredients. I love it. Must give this a try. Haven’t cooked scallops myself yet. Thanks for sharing.

If you have tried it or like this recipe, then please leave a comment: