Indonesian fried rice with mackerel

2014-02-02 19.50.10

Having spent lunch at one of Surrey’s finest hostelries, there was no way I wanted to cook something big for supper, so ended up searching for something light and tasty, using up what I had in the fridge. Searching for mackerel and rice, I actually found the following recipe on the BBC Food website. Making sure I had everything else in my cupboards, this recipe took about 20 minutes to make from start to finish. It had a clean spicy flavour and actually left me wanting more, after I finished my bowl. I have only just started getting in to rice dishes and this was nearly as good as the trio roast I had in the pub!

I might just have to re-use the base of this recipe later, as I have a ham end I need to use up šŸ˜‰

Ingredients:
1 tbsp olive oil
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 tbsp red curry paste
pinch caster sugar
800g cooked basmati rice (about 250g-300g uncooked)
small bunch spring onions, sliced
140g frozen peas
2 tbsp soy sauce, plus extra to serve
4 smoked mackerel fillets, flaked

1. Heat the oil in a large frying pan or wok. Tip in the eggs and swirl to coat the base of the pan. Cook for 1 min, then flip and cook the other side until set. Remove and roughly chop into ribbons.

2. Add the curry paste and sugar and fry for 1 min. Tip in the rice and stir to coat in the paste, then add the spring onions and peas. Stir-fry for 2-3 mins until everything is really hot. Add the soy sauce, then gently toss through the omelette ribbons and mackerel.

3. Divide between 4 bowls and garnish with the cucumber. Serve with extra soy sauce, if you like.

Enjoy!

2014-02-02 19.41.25

2014-02-02 19.49.50

3 thoughts on “Indonesian fried rice with mackerel”

If you have tried it or like this recipe, then please leave a comment: